Old drafts

Taking a look at old pictures that I have in my phone, I stumbled upon these drafts. They’re around 2 years old, and all of them were poorly made with an IKEA pencil out of boredom and the need to obtain something that I didn’t even know I was craving back then. The funny thing about these is that I clearly remember that the inspiration that sat me down to draw them came from what only could have been defined as exasperation. After all, what usually moves me to create something is the constant disappointment that life inevitably brings with it and my need to find the beauty I can’t obtain somewhere else.

That sounded more serious than I intended… What I was trying to say is that painting and drawing at that time (and now too, I guess) was the response to whatever difficulty may have crossed my way; it was something that calmed me down and put things into perspective. What I didn’t know back then is that I actually needed that reassurance or the reason behind that need, and that I was trying with all my soul to unconsciously run away from that unknown reason.

Mmm that sounded too serious aswell… I guess I have that emo aura around me now that I’ve been in my room for 3 days straight studying. A run might be in order this evening! Or maybe a few drinks out? Or both. God I need the sunlight!

  Anyway, I just wanted to share these drafts for the heck of it!

Responder

