Disorders, obsessions and contemporary dance.

I don’t know if I’ve said this before, but I used to do ballet and contemporary dance when I was younger. I had to quit for a number of reasons that are not important right now, but I would lie if I said that I don’t miss it. I used to be able to do side leaps and grand jetés, and now I can barely achieve a plié and my flexibility is worse than my mom’s.

However, I still enjoy watching it, especially watching contemporary routines. I find them much more fun because they’re not so rigid and the movements allow you to express freely more emotions that the ballet in its perfection cannot obtain. So the other day I was watching my favorite routines on Youtube, and I saw the one that I’m about to show you.

I think this routine, with its roughness and merciless movements, shows perfectly the emotions and feelings that an addict or a sick person with a psicological disorder would experience. They perform the hopelessness and the struggle that the diseased person goes through, and the inevitable attraction that -in this case- she feels towards the object of her obsession, making her go back to her self-destructive old ways again. It’s the constant dichotomy between the sane and self preservation oriented half of the person who suffers the disorder, and the desperate and irrational need to satisfy the other sick and disrupted half.

Hope you liked it! I think in some way we all can relate to it.

Responder

