Weekend Recollection

Are there football fans in the room? Anyone who supports Real Madrid? My condolences… Ha, not really! Here’s to every Real Madrid supporter that in the past few weeks had taken the time to email me, message me on facebook or write me on whatsapp to remind me that Atlético de Madrid stood no chance in winning the Copa del Rey Championship! Pay attention:

WE WON!

Atletico Madrid players celebrate victory against Real Madrid after Spanish King's Cup final soccer match in Madrid

You know what they say; the one who laughs the last, laughs the loudest (or however you translate that saying to English) So this past week I had to avoid any football conversation that might had ended up with me bitch slapping someone. In all honesty, my faith was actually crumbling. 14 years without winning a derby were too many years, and we were playing in their field, their territory. Everything started like it usually did, with Real Madrid scoring in the first 30 minutes. But, oh, wasn’t it so sweet when Falcao passed the ball to my admired Diego Costa so he could put that beautiful little thing where it belonged? I felt embarrassed for even doubting my team…

So yeah, Atlético de Madrid won the only match that was worth winning. A final. In the Santiago Bernabeu stadium, with all the Real Madrid supporters’ smug faces and grins fading away during the second half of the extra time. I do not believe in God, but for those who do believe, God is not “white” after all, is him?

“The revenge you want will be yours in time” ( does anyone recognize this quote?)

I wanted to celebrate our victory by cooking something special… well, I wanted to bake something because the cream that I bought to make the NY Cheesecake was going to expire in the first place, but Atlético de Madrid’s victory gave me a better excuse to do so. I found an interesting recipe for Banana & Oatmeal cookies on this website, and I decided to give it a go. The result… could definitely have been better, but I am going to blame it on the fact that I didn’t have an appropiate blender. Also, my oven was a pain and decided to heat only half of the surface, leaving half of my precious cookies a bit more tanned than they were supposed to be. Still… they were delicious!

Apart from baking, shamefully watching Eurovision (my ears needed Metallica afterwards to recover from the experience), re-reading an amazing story that I stumbled upon nearly 4 years ago ( I’ll probably talk about it in another post), and studying for tomorrow’s exam, my weekend has been very uneventful. I still have the itch to paint, but I’d lose myself in the creation process forgetting the rest of the world and obligations. I know me well enough by now to know that I should avoid the temptation in order to fulfil my responsible student role…

I am dreading this week, by the way. 3 exams in 5 days… So:

Responder

