About sketching and sleep deprivation

I know there hasn’t been a Weekend Recollection this time, but I’ve been going crazy here with exams and other circumstances that have kept me incredibly busy. You see, I think the term “busy” is a very interesting thing. Being busy doesn’t exclude the possibility of doing what you want to do entirely, it just gives you the right excuse to stop you from doing whatever you don’t feel like you want to do. So, this week and last week I have been very busy. I had a big exam on Monday  and because of it I didn’t sleep anything at all which resulted in me crashing at the closest house right after the exam, acting like I was on drugs due to the high that I was feeling from sleep deprivation and falling asleep a few hours later on a friend’s couch. However, I did manage to do some sketches right before passing out. That’s what I meant when I said that being busy doesn’t really stop you from doing what you feel like you need to do, and I felt like I needed to do some drawings while my friend, on the other hand, kept trying to take my sketchbook away from me to take me to bed – I guess I really was freaking him out with my behaviour.

Lately I’ve been drawn to sketching situations that represent the meaning of a quote that I’ve found on the internet, that someone has said to me or that I’ve read in a book or listened to in a song. I’m having fun trying to think of the right image to melt into the meaning of the quote, and using only pencils makes it easier for me to do the drawing wherever I am in a relatively short period of time. It’s nothing fancy, I know, but it keeps the withdrawal symptoms for lack of painting at bay while I finish these goddamned exams!

2 pensamientos en “About sketching and sleep deprivation

Responder

